A canonical export format with complete meta-data

I am currently trying to figure out what combination of rtf, html, mmd, mmd-html, mmd-latex, … I can make work for me. I am a newbie, very excited about using Scrivener and shaping my mental book model in this great tool, but also stumped with how much of that mental book model – specifically, meta-data at all levels of the document content and structure – is lost in the output formats that I can readily get. Even something that should be simple, like getting an assigned keyword for a (sub)section of a document into a style-able

, seems out of reach.

From the point of view of easily connecting it to xhtml, latex, powerpoint, … It would be really nice if Scrivener would provide a single canonical export format that captured all the structure, content, and meta-information that Scrivener knows about a project, in a standard form such as XML.

<document>
  <metadata>
     <settings>various scrivener settings for this doc</settings>
     <title>the title that appears in the binder</title>
     <keyword>k1</keyword>   <keyword>k2</keyword>
     <label>L1</label>   <status>S2</status>     <notes> ... </notes>
  </metadata>
  <text>content, in standard xhtml subset with <p>, <table>, etc ... </text>
  <binder_structure>
      <document>  <metadata>...<text>...</document>
      <document>  <metadata>...<text>...</document>
  </binder_structure>
</document>

I think this would be very useful for people to re-use or build many other useful bridges out of (and in to) Scrivener e.g. in the form of XSLT, perl, or Ruby scripts.

Thoughts?

Sophie

Just curious about others’ opinions either way on this one.