A few questions on using Scrivener

Hi All,

I’m new to Scrivener and I’ve decided to do my thesis using this app. I tried to search for these answers but couldn’t find them.

1. When I import pdf book into Scrivener, where it is stored? For example in Zotero there is a folder for each and every book I’ve imported, but I can’t really see what’s going on in Scrivener.

2. I set my backup folder to be Google Drive folder. So I am not syncing from Scrivener, just saving my files there. I guess that’s okay? Should I expect problems if I try to download my project from Google Drive and continue to work (in case something happens to my computer and I have to reinstall OS or buy new one)?

3. I’ll have more then 2Gb of PDFs imported into Scrivener. Should I expect any crashes, lags or similar?

Thanks for help

Hi and welcome, :slight_smile:

1. PDFs and other images can only be imported into the “Reference” folder, but from there you can copy them into a document in the Draft folder—they cannot exist ‘bare’ within the Draft folder but must be contained within a document.

2. If by back-ups you mean zipped back-ups, then you can use Google Drive/iCloud Drive for that. Do not use either of those for active projects as they will screw them up. See, for instance:

scrivener.tenderapp.com/help/kb/ … e-advisory

the same is true for iCloud Drive. They are safe for zipped back-ups—I use iCloud Drive for that—but you have to unzip those back-ups to some other location if you want to open them in Scrivener. For online storage and synchronising active projects, both Dropbox and Cubby work well. If you’re going to use one of those, read:

scrivener.tenderapp.com/help/kb/ … c-services