A few thoughts...

Keith,

Let me first add to the chorus of voices proclaiming that you got this program exactly right - not just the elegant user interface, but more importantly the vision of a tool for writers who must juggle the chaos of focused research and random ideas, jottings and ramblings, and multiple revisions from draft through final prose.

I’m a writer and documentary filmmaker, and soon to be a new Scrivener user. After giving the program a trial run, I have a few thoughts on features you might consider for future upgrades. Each would extend the program’s focus on functional writing, while not tipping it towards bloatware. (I have no idea how hard any of these would be to impliment.)

USER-DEFINED KEYBOARD SHORTCUTS – For years I’ve been using customized keyboard commands and macros in MS Word that allow me to do almost everything I need to write and edit without removing my hands from the keyboard, and thus avoiding the mouse. This includes:
Jump to the beginning and end of documents
Page up and down
Document scrolling by line
Move to line beginning and end
Move forward and back by word
Deleting word forward and back
Indent, unindent
Common formatting commands
I’ve centered these commands around the Apple key (sometimes in combination with the Option and Shift keys) and the arrow keys. It’s a system that works for me, and has become like breathing in my writing process. It would be really cool - perhaps essential - if I could bring this customized system to Scrivener through some kind of keyboard mapping or macros option.

FAVORITES PANE – A readily available favorites pane would allow me to collect, via aliases, a handy assortment of commonly used documents needed for any particular writing task. This collection would not be tied to any particular document but span across a working sessions, whether it lasted an hour, a week, or indefinitely. A favorites pane would save hunting for the same things over and over again in the binder.