•Help Getting Started or Best Organization Techniques?

Hi,

I just bought Scrivener and have gone through its tutorial. However, I am a novice writer who needs some advice on some early stage use in the program. Specifically, what is the best way to organize the following; creating separate files/folders where you can dump ideas on individual characters and creating a file/folder to place random plot ideas or plot challenges.

I have done this by simply creating a document under the “Research” folder entitled “Plot ideas” and others for characters, but as this grows its getting rather unwieldily! What do you suggest for these early stages? Im sure I am not doing this efficiently and would like to cull bad habits early!

Many thanks,

One of the really nice things about Scrivener is that it is easy to just dump your brain out and then sort things up later. It is trivial to split and merge documents. It is easy to assign meta-data such as labels and keywords to large numbers of documents at once. You can even change your mind on what should be a folder or a document. With the Edit Scrivenings feature, you can feel free to chop things up as small as you want, knowing that you can easily temporarily combine them back together whenever you wish.

So my advice, starting out, would be to just not worry. Unlike many other programs, you don’t need to decide on a schema before you start entering data.

I would say that while you’re figuring it out, try to err on the side of splitting your notes out in more files. As Amber points out, you can easily re-combine them temporarily using Edit Scrivenings.

Also, because splitting out your files is so foreign to most, by feeling like you’re erring on the side of splitting them out more, you may end up with chunks of text about the right size! (My personal preference is to have each chunk a scene for the prose, and each chunk a topic for my reference notes.)