A more specific wordcount target icon?

Hi Keith

I’ve been using Scrivener for my fiction for a couple of years now (looking forward to version 2!) but recently I’ve switched to a Mac at work (yay!) and started using Scrivener for editing articles for our newsletter, specifically because the word count display and targets are so handy.

Anyway, what I was thinking is that the current “below = red, above = green” icon is a bit simplistic. If you are aiming for a specific word count, whether for an article, a short story or whatever, too many words is just as bad as too few. What I would find really useful would be if the ‘green zone’ extended say 10% either side of my target, with 0-90% being red (for consistency with the current interface) and 110%+ being a third colour: perhaps blue or yellow. As a programmer I’m guessing that this would be fairly trivial to add - a couple of lines of code, maybe, and an extra graphic?

Ultimately it would be nice for the size of the “comfort zone” to be configurable, but that would be icing on the cake.

What does anyone else think? Do you simply aim to hit or exceed a word count, or are you using Scrivener to edit down as well as up?

I use the word count feature in both directions, but mostly to help me to edit work down to a maximum wordcount. However, I quite like the progress indicator just as it is, because the colour change moment is so precise, and all I have to remember is whether I am hoping for it to change to red or to green. If I intend to take advantage of the 10% leeway I have on some projects, then I simply set that adjusted limit as my target.

I actually just started a project to work on my short, erm, pieces. (Most of them are more slice-of-life bits rather than actual stories–that or silly sappy things I did as a teen.)