about 10.3.9 OS

Hi! I’d love some help if you have an older version that I can access.

I read about Scrivener and downloaded beta 1.1 on my work’s machine that has OS 10.4.10 to test. I’ve played around in it and it looks fabulous!

I’m currently revising my 2nd novel and I wrote a screenplay, too – granted, I’m new to writing and learning as I go. This is my hobby and I feel Scrivener could really help with organization; however, my ibook is older and runs on 10.3.9.

I see no chance of getting a new one (or updating the OS) for about a year. Is there an old version of Scrivener I can download on my Biddy laptop?

Also, if there is an older version and I use it, will the files be inter-changeable with an updated software? By that I mean, can I open the old files in the updated Scrivener and/ or can I open new files in the older Scrivener?

If not, I understand. I guess I can wait for a year or so! : )
Thanks for your time. I skimmed the Tech threads and here but didn’t see these questions addressed in the first several pages.
Cheers!

Hi,
please let us know which iBook you own – I run Tiger on an iBook G3 500 mhz without DVD player and it works just fine. I’m sure there’s a way to install Tiger on your old iBook and now that Leopard is out many people sell their Tiger licenses and you might get one very cheaply.

I’m afraid that there are no versions of Scrivener that run on anything less than Tiger. It relies on certain technologies - such as the PDF view for viewing PDF files - that were not available pre-Tiger.
Best,
Keith

I also have an iBook 500 with Tiger on it and it works just fine. I did max out the RAM, so I think that helps.

To install it, I put it in Target mode using my Powerbook G4. Whatever machine you use to put the iBook in Target mode will need a DVD reader, but the iBook itself doesn’t need that.

All the info is on Apple’s support site and it was pretty straight forward as I recall.

for all the great responses!