About Corkboard

I’m a writer in Sweden who’s fairly new to Scrivener. Love it! It’s quickly become my number one tool for writing (ousting both Final Draft and Screenwriter). Now, This is going to be a silly request but our brains all work differently (mine especially) and that is what makes us humans so exciting - isn’t it? Diversity…

Here we go. There’s one little (or big - don’t know programming) tweak I’d love to have. Spending endless hours, days and months in corkboard mood writing my index cards, updating them and re-arranging them, I find I spend huge amounts of time adjusting the cards in freeform mode to make them line up in straight lines. You might think I should spend my time in arranged mode but that isn’t at all the same thing. I still need to group them together and move a chunk of cards from this stack to that. Keeping acts and scenes in the visualised stacks
I’m probably OCD at some level but having a snap-to-grid function (preferably one where you choose grid size) would do a world of difference for me and maybe some others to.

Again - looooove my Scrivener. Hope my wish makes it onto the action list.

Take care
/David

Glad you’re liking Scrivener!

Why don’t you use columns or rows for what you are after, using the multiple group selection feature?

For instance, suppose you have your binder divided up into three folders, Act 1, Act 2 and Act 3, each containing various scenes, then if you select the Act 1, Act 2 and Act 3 folders in the binder, you will see the scenes contained in all three acts on the corkboard, and you can choose to view them in a grid, as rows, or as columns. If you’re working with acts and scenes and want to keep them aligned, I would think that this would be a better approach than using the freeform corkboard.

All the best,
Keith

Hm, Ok… hadn’t tried that. Great feature. Should have seen it before.
It’s gonna be useful. Thanks.

However, there’s no way to have those columns/rows AND freeform within them… is there?