Academic non-fiction workflow? (dealing with citations)

Dear Sirs and Madams,

I’ve been reading blogs and forum posts about citation management for the past week or so and many are quite old so I figured I’d post this.

My current project is likely going to be at least 300 pages in A5 with about 5-10 citations per page and possibly an end of chapter bibliography or end of book bibliography. My boss will want a .docx using Word header formatting so they can change formatting on the fly.

I’m new to Scrivener and I wonder about citation formatting. I’m used to using citation management software to keep things solid. I see a lot of mentions of Zotero on this forum, which I’m familiar with. From what I’ve seen, Scrivener compiles and in doing so changes all the formatting to presets that I can set… but what about the citations? I don’t want to have to go through all citations just to italicise and small caps individual things.

I’m mostly interested in finding out other people’s workflows, more specifically where the citation management comes in.

Is the Zotero ODF plugin scannable cite the best way to go?

Kind Regards,

Don

Hi,

I haven’t used Zotero before so not sure how it works.

I’ve written a couple of academic papers with Scrivener.

I managed to sort out the citation problem you mention by using Papers, which is the only one I found to communicate with Scrivener. It adds a text-tag in scrivener and when you export it to word it formats the bibliography automatically. Fixing the italics, etc has more to do with customising Papers style rather than Scrivener’s part.

In Scrivener, however, you will not be able to see the full reference list at the end of the document. What Papers does is to add something like {ID:444:2015, p.3} and then in Word it translates it to (John:2015, p.3) and adds the full reference.

Hope this helps.

John