Afraid to start taking notes for biography

Hello all,
I am new to Scrivener and starting my first book-length project. I’m not tech-averse by any means – I design Wordpress websites as part of my job – but the capabilities of Scrivener have me frozen at the beginning.

I suppose my biggest fear is that I’ll start researching and taking notes and won’t tag/organize them correctly, leading to tons of wasted time and missed organizational aids.

I’ve done the entire tutorial, so I ‘know’ what’s here, but not having used any of the features (except importing my master’s thesis and breaking it out into sections as the skeleton of my biography), it’s still a bit daunting.

Any helpful thoughts? Thanks so much.

Greetings, pdean, and welcome to Scrivener! For my recently completed bio, I actually stored all my notes (mostly written in plain old TextEdit) in the Finder, and then imported them into the appropriate scrivener project chapter as needed. I used about eight Finder tags for topics, but the primary tag was the date of the event, since my coauthor and I organized our bio chronologically.

The cards were stored in folders by year, with each decade getting an enclosing folder. Eventually we further enclosed the year folders in section folders ; the book was divided into about nine major sections, each covering a span of years ranging from about four years to seven years, IIRC.

Of course there were plenty of files / notecards that weren’t date specific, and those went into folders organized by topic. But most of my notes applied to a specific year or at least period (early 1940s, say) in my subject’s life.

I’m sure I could have organized the info more adeptly, but really, I found that if an item really needed to be in more than one place, it was just as easy to duplicate the card and file it twice or thrice in the appropriate folders.