Alternatives on a line by line basis?

I’m a television writer and slowly over a few years have made the full switch from FDX to Scrivener. But
there’s something I keep finding myself wanting and wanted to see if maybe it’s a feature hidden
somewhere or maybe someone has a work-around…

…but I’m often in the situation where I want to have an easy to store “alternatives to a line of dialogue.”

Generally, I deal with this inside the script like:
CHARACTER
I’m a line of dialogue.
(alt)
I’m an alt line of dialogue.

But sometimes that gets unwieldy if I have a lot of them. And messes up the page count as eventually I’m
going to have to settle on one line. It’s like what I want is a kind of mini-snapshot that would
apply to a unit smaller than a document.

Is that supported in any way by the software?

You could highlight the text and create an inspector comment with the alt dialogue. Click on the current text, and you’d see the alternative text in the inspector. Swapping out isn’t going to be super convenient, but it could be done.

You could also split off that part of the scene (adjust your scrivenings separators to avoid increasing page count) in to a separate document temporarily, and use actual snapshots for alternate text. Once you’ve settled on your final choice, you could then merge the document with two surrounding documents.

You could put the alternative lines in Annotations. Those will still show up in the Page View page count, but you can tell the Compile command to strip them out and then print to PDF (or whatever).

Katherine

All of these are solid workarounds. Thanks!

I’m going to play around with them a bit and see how they feel in practice. i’ve
tried a version of splitting off into a separate document before but ended up getting
bugged by the number of documents it generated. Though suddenly, I’m wondering
now if I couldn’t solve that by nesting them and keeping the nests closed. I need to