annotations

I am new to Scrivener. It provides a very robust environment for writing. Very Well Done! That said, It would be nice if annotations could not just be ghosted, but be hidden. Take that a step further, and taking into consideration that writing is a lot of times several competing manners of expression, lines of thought, etc, that sometimes diverge here or there from what is otherwise the same. If annotations could be color coded, and revealed or hidden on the basis of the color, it becomes possible to juggle a number of different versions in the same draft, based on the color of the text you show or hide.

onno

Hi onno,

You’re late to the party. :slight_smile: Hidden annotations have long been an ideal, and have been much discussed, but sadly it’s not possible - the OS X text system on which Scrivener is built just isn’t capable of hiding text in this way. Last year I took out a developer technical support incident with Apple to try to find a way of doing this, and one of the top Apple text system engineers tried to find a solution - and couldn’t (not without lots of errors and bugs at least).

Although the current annotation will remain (because I’m fond of it myself), for those who don’t like to see the notes in the text itself, Scrivener 2.0 will have a comments system, too, whereby you can associate comments with ranges of text and the comments will appear in the inspector (similar to Nisus or Pages’ comments systems).

Thanks and all the best,
Keith

I did look back to last Summer, to see if this had been discussed. That is probably why, when you make them completely transparent, the space is still there, and following what you say, it would be difficult to collapse that space.