Are Chapters Required?

I’m a newbie wanting to import my already-written novel into Scrivener so I can quickly compile it for print and ebook. Since “Import and Split” doesn’t work right in the Windows version, I imported my novel from Word as one long text. When I did that, Scrivener made it one scene in a chapter folder. I’m now using the manual split command to break it at each chapter as I understand a break is needed so it will format each chapter properly when compiled. However, when I did the splits, Scrivener made each chapter a scene within the single chapter folder.

My question is does each actual chapter need to be in its own chapter folder for my novel to compile properly? Or can I just do away with any chapter folders and just have the chapters defined as Scrivener “scenes” and still compile okay?

Assuming you started with a Novel template, or are using a novel compile preset, all you have to do is move the chapter files you’ve split into the main “Manuscript” folder, rather than having them be children of the “Chapter” folder. The basic setup for standard novel template is that you either have chapter folders and scene documents in those folders, or you have chapter files, and no folders.

You’re diving into the deep end here, so if you really want to continue, you’re going to have to learn a lot about Scrivener’s back end (compile) at the very beginning of your experience with it. The compile process has the steepest learning curve of all the rest of Scrivener’s features. For people new to Scrivener, I would suggest going at it the other way around: writing in Scrivener, and then compiling to a Word or RTF file so that you can do your final formatting/styling in a more familiar environment.

Anyway, good luck, and feel free to ask as many questions in these forums as you need to.