As an exam study tool

So, I’m a student. I looked into scrivener, because I’m definitely hoping to do grad work, but also, I’m doing my undergrad research project, as well as having quite a few papers in general this semester. But it came to mind that it could end up extremely useful for something else: EXAM NOTES!

I have an e-reader which I like to use almost excessively. Before, I would just export my exam notes to pdf files, but sometimes the scaling isn’t optimal, so I’m looking forward to being able to use scrivener to create my exam notes! I’m hoping to be able to create chapters for each unit, and then possibly some at the end for “flashcards” (when appropriate for the class). This will hopefully allow for easy navigation using kobo’s index system, with being able to jump back and forth between chapters. After reading some other posts, I’ve even downloaded Sigil, so that if I have the extra time, I can even make my notes all fancy. Spending so much time on the process may seem a little counter-intuitive… but so long as I’m going over the content for each stage, the process serves it’s function!

I have noticed one thing though… pdfs seem to be NOTORIOUSLY slow in scrivener (at least, the ones my lecturers provide for slides, though I’ve also been noticing the issue for many of the articles I tried importing for my research), so for now, I’m still stuck with the adobe reader running alongside scrivener, but overall, I’m VERY happy with scrivener. Even as a broke student, I’m not ending up with buyers regret (which I often get for buying a bag of chips, or “spoiling” myself by getting the GOOD brand of bread).

And if it helps me get back into some of my creative hobbies (I do everything… write, draw, sculpt, etc), all the better!