Astonishing software!

I’m a nerd. I have been using Macintoshes since the 1980s. I’ve done some programming. I retired early from the publishing business and am now a writer. I recently published a novel (science fiction) through my small press, and I’m starting on the sequel. I use Adobe InDesign for publishing work, and I’m very happy with it. Complexity doesn’t scare me if it’s disciplined, conceptually clean complexity. But I simply could not face writing another novel in any of the editors I’ve ever used. I’ve used many editors. I go all the way back to vi and nroff in the early Unix world. Like I said, I’m a nerd.

I started looking for outliners and editors. They all sucked. I like many of the concepts of programs like BBEdit, because they’re clever and oriented toward streams rather than pages. But BBEdit and other programmer’s editors don’t even support bold and italics, as far as I could tell. I despise Microsoft Word and refuse to use it. I hate software that tries to automate things and that thinks it knows better than I do. In Word, things are always hopping around in unpredictable ways. For every keystroke that Word’s automated features might save you, 9,462 keystrokes are required to clean up the messes it makes. LibreOffice is no better, just because it’s from the Word universe.

Opting for simplicity and nonviolence, I was about to start the new novel in TextEdit, using a TextEdit file as an outline. But then while Googling I came across Scrivener. I could scarcely believe it. There are people on the planet who think like me!