Auto-numbering and headings

Hi there,
I am fairly new to Scrivener and have the following problem.
I am writing a non-fiction book with lots of chapters, sections, sub-sections etc. all of which have numbers like 1, 1.1, 1.1.1, 1.1.1.1
I used to do this in word by assigning headings 1-n to each heading.
How would I go about doing this in Scrivener?

1. From what I understood by reading the tutorial, I should pretty much not add numbers to chapters, sections etc. but should rather make every .n (the smallest part lets say 1.1.1.1) a text file on its own in the binder. And then group them in folders etc. And then let “compile” do the numbering. Is that correct? Or is there any other way I can see the numbering while I am going about writing - like Word does?

2. Certain files I imported from Word show up in the binder, but also have the title (just as in the binder) show up in the text greyed out. When I change the “title” in the text (which is really just the first line of the text), the title of the file in the binder also changes. What kind of function is that and what would I need it for and how do I get rid of it? Because some files in the binder show this behavior, whereas others have their title in the binder that doesn’t show up in the text. I really drives me nuts and I could find the relevant function in the tutorial. Any help is very much appreciated.

-chris.

Chris,