I’m hoping someone can explain what this actually means, from the Scrivener Manual, p 636, section B.2.1.
Automatically recover fi les inside project folder Of particular use to those
working across diff erent machines, using synchronisation or cloud tech-
nology, this option recovers “confl ict” fi les that may be generated by those
tools, if items within the project are accidentally edited in two locations
before syncing. Disabling this feature should only be done if you do not
use these tools. When disabled, fi les you places into the project folder’s in-
ternal hierarchy yourself will not be recovered. Note that it is not advised
that you do this under any circumstances.
It is not clear what “recovered” refers to, as in, “recovered” from what exactly. There seem to be multiple senses of what recover might mean, or what one is recovering the files from: an accident, a bug, an action taken by mistake, an intentional action you’ve changed your mind about…? An explanation that didn’t use the word “recover” and that unfolded what was taking place would probably help.
I am using sync folders, but all on the same machine, and without any cloud involvement.
Of particular interest is how what is being described (and warned about) here might relate to matters discussed in this thread, as it seems the behavior described there could qualify as a “recovery” of files “generated by” the sync tool.
External Folder Sync brings back files if deleted from Trash before sync