Backtrack feature for audio/video files

At present, you can play an audio/video file in the upper pane, write what you hear in the lower pane and hit cmd-return to pause/resume the recording.
Would it be possible to add a key combination to allow the recording to resume playing the track, say, 2 seconds before it stopped? (This is called “Backtrack on pause” in Transcriva 1.1 by Barthas Technology).
A neat interface solution could be alternating the “Play Media File” command to “Play with backtrack” by adding the option key.
It seems nothing at first, but it is indeed a time-saver for journalists or anybody who needs to transcribe messy audio files, interviews in foreign languages, etc.

I appreciate Stefano’s point, having used professional video tape machines when I worked for the local TV Station … backtracking makes things so much easier. But I can see a big potential conflict here … I’m surprised that it seems not to have been picked up.
I’m new to Scrivener and haven’t had time to play with it yet, and certainly haven’t had time to try playing audio/video in one pane while writing in the other … But Cmd-Space is the standard system keybinding for switch keyboards, something I’m doing all the time. What happens in Scrivener to someone who wants to transcribe an audio file where they need to switch keyboards in the process?
Mark

It’s cmd-return, not cmd-space, so there’s no conflict with the default keyboard-switching key.

I especially like the opt-cmd-return idea for “resume playing with 2-second backtrack.”

Oh how it would help to have this available: I’m spending way too much time this morning transcribing a two-hour interview conducted in a noisy restaurant. Scrivener would be perfect for this if it had an easy way to rewind slightly.

Andy

ooops :blush: I misread! :blush:
Mark

I was going to post this exact same request.