Best way to export text to InDesign

I’m looking for advice and recommendations on the best way to export text from Scrivener to InDesign. First, some background: I’m familiar with Scrivener, been using it for years, and can compile to many formats including kindle, epub, Word and PDF.

I’m a complete novice with InDeisgn, however. I’ve got a book and some training vids, and as usual I’ll probably learn by tweaking and trial and error along the way.

My needs are simple, since I’m producing print versions of novels to go into PDFs for Createspace. So no images, no tables, simple chapter headings, no other headings.

I can see a few options for exporting text from Scrivener, including: copy and paste; compile to Word then import; ditto with plain text; maybe compile to PDF and then import that (?); export individual files in the binder to the finder and then work with those. But what would the experts do? What’s the common sense way of doing this to minimise hassle and errors?

Thanks in advance for any tips.

Not just InDesign but any DTP package. Personally interested in using Scrivener in a Scribus workflow but there are others.

Have you tried Scrindesign 2? I never have myself, but a number of people on the forum have reported it works great.

Curious…if the design is simple (typical book?), why not just compile to PDF and use that for Createspace?