Binders and collections and organising files

I have read the manual section on binders and collections but I have to admit I am still unclear on how to relate the different elements. I am a writer, a journalist and a speaker and I have created three binders to represent three different areas of work and I want to relate the documents, corkboards, research etc to those divisions but I am not sure how to do it. I am not sure what the brown object I have created entitled PREACH represents.

In my mind I would have three main binders, then collections within those binders, and projects, then documents at lower levels – but I don’t think Scrivener’s hierarchy works like this. Can you help me to understand it – and be able to move my content to the right places? TIA

–Ian Greig

Not exactly a reply but here is the screenshot I made earlier but the board doesn’t accept .tiff

Okay, I think a tip that will help you out is that collections are not actually binders. There can only ever be one binder in a project. Collections are portals for viewing select portions of the binder in useful ways as you see fit. You might have twenty articles that are scattered amongst various categories in the binder, but you wish to view them all together in one spot. You don’t want to actually move these items and collect them in one spot in the binder, because their original placement is important for their context (perhaps they are meant to compile together into a longer piece and need to be in that spot). This is where Collections step in. You can gather these disparate pieces from all over the binder and show them together as one list.