Binders, Folders, and Collections

I’m writing primarily for a RPG blog, which I collect into fanzines and occasionally larger projects, so I create multiple final documents over time out of the same well of material. What’s the best way to organize things?

For instance, I have a master collection of monsters (in the Research binder?). I want to include some of the monsters in Zine #1, along with some spells and magical items.
Do I set up Zine #1 as a folder in Draft or a collection?
Can I compile a collection?
Do I need to collect the material for Zine #1 and then make a new copy of that material for formatting and compiling purposes when it’s at that stage (breaking it away from the material in Research)?
Is there a better way that I’m not thinking of?
Is it time for lunch?

I really love Scrivener; the multiple windows and ease of navigation make it really easy to compare various items (like monsters) to each other so things match up. :slight_smile:

Thanks!

Either way works, it depends on how you put together a zine. If you write out all of the pieces together in one place, in a linear fashion, then it would be easiest to just continue doing that in the Draft folder, one sub-folder per zine edition. Collections are going to be a better tool for putting together editions that contain material from all over the Binder. You still have the basic rule that only text items can be included in the output, but you are no longer bound to the Draft folder alone. You can take material from all over the place, and even shuffle the order around. Where this might be useful is if you store material topically, and choose from a selection of options for a particular edition, but do not want to reassign, or move, those items out of their original topical folders.