Blank text documents

Help! Today I discovered that in one of my Scrivener projects, every text document created before August of 2016 is blank. (I know the date because all the titles include the date written) The documents are all there in their folders. The title of the documents are there, but all the words in the documents are gone and they show Zero words. I absolutely would not have deleted these words, as it is valuable source material for a series of books I’m writing.

I don’t use Dropbox and didn’t open the files on a different device – I know those can cause problems. I’m hoping there’s a setting that I inadvertently changed. Please help. I’m a professional writer and if all this is gone, it’s a severe blow.

Where is your project saved? On the local HD or somewhere else?

My project was saved on my hard drive, on Carbonite and on 2 drives I use for manual backup.

I finally found an old backup from last May that has my old documents still intact, thank goodness. I’m really paranoid about using Scrivener now if words can just disappear within a file. I guess I will just have to make more, different kinds of backups and keep them longer.

Do you know what can cause this? I will do everything possible to prevent this from happening again.

No, not withoit knowing what you did, how you use Scrivener, version, how you save, how your Binder looks and how you organize your text, and how you use Scrivenings mode, and so on. Without knowing anything more than what you wrote in your first post it’s impossible to guess.
What is Carbonite and do you mean that you save the project simultaneously in four different places? If so, how?

A blank document indicates that the file listed in the master index used to build the Binder is either empty or missing.

The most common cause is that the project is incomplete. That can happen if Dropbox synchronization was interrupted, but also, for instance, if only part of the project is copied between systems by some other method.