Can I access the same text (document) from different folders in Binder without duplicating it?

Hi,
I’m pretty new to Scrivener, so apologies if I’ve missed an obvious way to do this or my terminology is wrong.

The way I’m organizing my work in the Binder, I’ve got some notes in a text document created by adding new text to a “Places” folder. This text is useful for and belongs in several different folders (for example, it belongs both under “Places” and under “Political Factions”). I’d like to be able to view the same, full text document in several folders, and not just a link to it. I especially want to have edits made to the text file change the content in all iterations of the text regardless of whether I accessed it through Folder X or Folder Y.

I would just duplicate the text and add it as a new document to all the folders, but then changes made in one won’t be passed on to the others. Any thoughts on how I can better organize this?

Thanks,
Chris

1 Like

You could achieve this with Collections (Scrivener manual 10.2, page 178).

Thank you! This seems so very much like the answer to my question, especially given the manual descriptions. However, I either made a mistake executing the instructions or poorly explained my hope.

When I (try to) use links or the <$include> placeholder I don’t seem to actually get a “file”- like text document in my binder that fully displays all the text; I get a link very similar to what I would get if I just dragged and dropped a different text document into the editor or onto selected text in a different document.