Can I have compile settings so my project has paragraph spacing when I'm typing but removes this on compiling?

First time forum visitor and poster here - hello!

I’m new to Scrivener. I’m writing a novel so I want my project to ‘look like a novel’ when I compile it (with no line spacing between paragraphs and indented first lines).

But, I want it to look like a report or feature story while I’m writing (I’m mainly a feature writer, so I’m most comfortable writing when there’s line spacing between paragraphs and left-justification with no indented first lines).

I also need it to be compiled with double-line spacing overall for an upcoming submission.

Is all this possible?!

I’ve got to the stage of duplicating a style so I can start editing it but I’m now lost in the details from there.

Any tips will be greatly appreciated!

You duplicated a format, I think. That’s very different from a style. In that format, create a section layout to taste. Attach it to a section type in the main Compile dialog and apply that section type to the relevant documents. (Not necessarily in that order.)

Compile overview

That is not only possible, but one of the underlying design principles of Scrivener: that the creative environment we want to surround ourselves with need not, and arguably should not resemble what that text is going to look like when our editors go over it, and so on. To that end, the formatting of text as you write is almost entirely divorced from how we can export it, and by that virtue, we can with a single click select between different looks when exporting. We can export something that looks a good deal like a paperback novel, if that’s how we prefer to do our own proofing, and then get a double-spaced 12pt Courier/Times output for submission when we’re done.