can I use different text editor?

I’m thinking about adopting scrivener as an outline manager – the corkboard looks really useful, and repoduces something that I often do on paper. However, I’ve been using emacs for 20+ years now as my text editor, so even the thought of using anything else for editing text makes me hurt. So, would it be possible to use Scrivener to organise text snippets, move them around etc, but then use a different text editor to actually edit them?

(I’d also like these text snippets to be latex files, i.e. have the ending “.tex”, but that’s a small matter should the whole setup work in principle.)

Emacs exports plain text? You can import plain text snippets into Scrivener, or drag and drop them on to the Binder. You can’t drag them out again, but you can export as plain text, or compile as MultiMarkdown which in turn can make Latex files (not that I know much about the latter, but the Scrivener Manual under the Help menu has sections on all these procedures). So the answer to your question is yes, but you might find going in and out again repeatedly a bit of a chore.

However, I’m bound to say that if you don’t write and edit in Scrivener, you’ll be missing much of its point. It is above all a drafting tool with features that support that purpose, such as text chunking, dual-pane editing, full-screen working, in-line and marginal annotations, meta-data of various kinds, compiling to export. Try it; you might like it! :slight_smile:

Check the MultiMarkdown section of the forum for some tips on using Scrivener to compose LaTeX without the middle solution. It’s perfectly viable to write LaTeX right into Scrivener and compile using the plain-text exporter (you’ll just need to fix the extension to .tex afterward), and even set up the compiler to automate some of the more routine stuff like wrapping titles into section or chapter code.