Can some one help me with word count?

Hi,
Sorry to bother you, but I’m new to Scrivener and knee deep in nanowrimo.

I’m trying to just get the overall word count for my document and what I’m getting out of Scrivener doesn’t seem right.

In Scrivener I click on the binder and click Edit Scivenings and I get a word count of 11,466.

But I’ve checked all of the pages that are “included in manuscript” and come up with a more reasonable total of 8603.

That’s a huge difference of 2863. Wow.

So I went back through the chapters looking for any document with 2863 words and I can’t find one.

Nor can I find any document marked to include in manuscript that shouldn’t be - I went through it twice.

Can someone please help me?

Thank you!!!

md

I’m a bit fuzzy on the details, but I’ll try to help.

When you ‘click on the binder’ what exactly do you click?
Do you have a tree-structure of your files?

Where exactly do you get that other word-count from?
I’m guessing ‘Project Targets’?
Have you checked 'Project Statistics? What does that say?

I’m trying to figure out what exactly you do, so hopefully, I can reproduce it a bit and we can figure this out :slight_smile:

cheers!

Tanja

Do you have annotations in your files?

I wonder if one of the counts may be including them, and the other excluding them - although I cannot remember which is which and do not have my copy of Scrivener.

Try searching the forums for word counts, or reading the help file - you may find an explanation of what is included and what isn’t in each case.

Oh yea! Thank you for trying to help me!

Okay, I actually click on the manuscript which I have renamed as the title of my “novel”

Then I click on Edit Scivenings and look at the “Words” that appears at the bottom of the Title Page, which is what is currently displayed.

Where is Project Targets?