Can someone explain footnotes to me???

Hi, I’m new to scrivener (mac), really new to it. I am not understanding the footnote concept in Scrivener.

I understand that I select an insertion point for my footnote, press the “fn” button and then I get an unstructured text block on the right hand side of the screen.

Is there not some input guidelines or automated way of getting a footnote formatted correctly? I use Endnote x5 and I used to simply use CWYW. Now I’m looking at Scrivener and wondering what am I really getting by using it instead of MS-Word?

Can anyone clear this up for me, I’m lost and fed up trying to locate some sort of direction on footnotes.

Jeff

A footnote is merely a piece of text that appears at the foot of the page – it might say something like “It seems to me that this should be clarified” or it might consist of a reference to the source of some piece of information, like “Smith and Jones, 1991”. If you want citations in your footnotes and you are using bibliographic software, what you typically do is to put in a “temporary citation”, which commonly looks something like {Smith and Jones, 1991} in the footnote panel. The curly braces are about the most common temporary citation markers. Some programs, like EndNote, usually want an ID number as well, so that you get {Smith and Jones, 1991 #69985} or something like that. When you have finished the piece you are writing, you compile to RTF, and scan the RTF file with your bibliographic manager, which will convert the temporary citations to whatever format you specify, and compile the bibliography for you.

The advantages of using Scrivener become very apparent when you have a long piece of work to write. If you are preparing a book of 150,000 words and you need to get the structure right, then you don’t want to do it in Word, believe me. I once used CWYW for a few minutes and it drove me nuts, but perhaps the implementation has improved.

Cheers, Martin.