can't create new project binder

I’m fairly new to scrivener…I’m using it for law school and love it so far (writing/organizing papers, etc.). Hopefully this is the right place to post my error.

I currently am having a problem with opening a new project binder…I’ll try and walk through my problem.

I go to File>New Project
The “Assistant–New Project Binder” window pops up.
I type in a project name and click “Create”.
A message comes up saying: “Could not open project” and “No valid project could be found at the specified path”.
It seems like Scrivener thinks I am opening an existing project.

I would appreciate any help!

Hi,

This sounds like a permissions problem. When you create a new project, what happens is that the new project is created on disk by the assistant, then the path of that project is passed to the Scrivener project controller, which tries to open the path it has been given (exactly the same as with an existing project) - so if the project wasn’t created on disk, then the error will be much the same as if you tried to open an existing project that doesn’t, er, exist (“an existing project that doesn’t exist” - please ignore the paradoxical nonsense!).

So, it seems that the file system on your machine is refusing to allow Scrivener to create the project. Do you have full read-write permissions for the location at which you are trying to create it?

Another user had the same problem here, and it was to do with ownership and permissions:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6680&start=0&hilit=could+not+open+project

All the best,
Keith

Gabby,

I hope you don’t find the following insulting, but I think KB’s explanation, while accurate, may not help you “fix” your immediate problem. If you are a tech head and understood what to do to fix your problem ignore the rest of this post.