Can't install program

Hello everybody.
Ok so this is really aggravating, because i’ve been trying to install Scrivener on my laptop for two weeks now, and i don’t know what the problem is. So i never even used the program; it’s just that i’m a writer and i’ve been looking for a program and after all the great reviwes i heard, i’ve really been anticipating this. i downloaded Scrivener beta for windows to try it out; the thing is that the exe. file is not responding. I double-click on it, and all it does is the black screen, and the message “do you want a program from an unknown publisher to make changes to your computer?” or something of the likes, and when i allow it, nothing. i mean it. not an error message or a crash and a freeze, no, nothing. it’s like the computer does not even recognize the program, and it’s really weird. i tried running it as administrator, i tried troubleshooting compatibility issues, but nothing seems to get the installer up and running. could anyone please help?
by the way, i have a 64-bit operating system toshiba, and i am currently using windows 7
i hope that’s enough information. Thanks in advance

Just to clarify: is it the installer that isn’t running, or is Scrivener not running after you install it? The installer should have placed a shortcut on your desktop if it did get that far. Have you tried running it from the shortcut?

Oh sorry. no actually, it’s the installer that is not running. as in, i haven’t even managed to install the program on my laptop yet

I’m having the same problem. I’m running Windows Vista and can’t get past 6% for downloading the INstaller. I get an error message telling me the server has stopped the download.

Thanks

I’m having the same trouble as well. I installed the earlier beta, and was using it, then it expired, so I downloaded the new beta.