can't move outside folders into "Manuscript" /Draft?

Hello, everybody!

I am new to Scrivener but I dutifully did the tutorial (well at least the shortened version as I thought I wouldn’t need the fancy features for a while). However, I seem to have reached the following deadlock:
I am writing my master thesis in Scrivener and it grows very organically, hence, I copied the Manuscript folder to make adjustments to my subfolders in the copy so as not to destroy my original outline before I am satisfied.
Now the first version finally became obsolete and I wanted to compile my efforts for review by my supervisors.
Unfortunately, I CANNOT no matter what move my copied/edited folders back into the Manuscript. So I am unable to compile my content at all.
Does anyone have an idea what the reason might be?

In the attached image you can see the sign next to the cursor indicating that the drag and drop is not permitted. (I had to take a pic with my phone cause it doesn’t show up in a screenshot, so please forgive the quality). For some reason I can move a few folders into the manuscript but only front, end matter or the discussion chapter (which is pretty empty so far). I also tested whether the inserted pdf or jpg attachments in certain folders are a problem (by removing and checking the drag and drop) but no difference. I am lost.

Is this just a bug for me or am I doing something wrong?

Thank you so much in advance for any help!!

Why move anything? As I understand your issue, you essentially have:
rev 1. - lots of stuff
Rev 2 - Lots of stuff and more

Why stick rev2 back into rev one? Just don’t compile rev 1.

Another way of doing this would have been to do a save as: Thesis-Rev2.

making another project and messing with it all you wanted. then just leaving rev 1 behind.

A third way would be to save as: thesis rev2.
Then delete everything in rev 1.

Are you trying to move documents with the same name as documents currently residing there?

hey!

thanks for the reply.