Can't seem to change book title font on title page (ebook)

Hi folks

I’m new to Scrivener for Mac and trying to figure out how to use the thing.

I’m trying to change the font on the title page of my ebook (the actual title of the book, although at this stage I’d take author as well if I had to) to no avail.

I’m using the non-fiction template as I don’t see an ebook one (unless you know of a custom one I can download??). I’ve changed the font in the document for the title to Zapfino 28pt. I’ve even selected it, gone to format>Preserve formatting. I’ve created a new ‘my title’ style. No avail. When I finish compiling the book and import the epub3 into iBooks, it’s still a really plain all caps style.

I can’t find anywhere for the actual title page in Compile. I see it for other things such as chapters, but not title page.

Can anyone help?

Many thanks

Richard

It’s nearly impossible to force ebooks to use a particular font. Ebook readers allow users to change the font at will, and generally only have a limited number of available fonts.

Katherine

Hi Richard. If are trying to maintain the Zapfino font style, then I concur with Katherine. eReaders (iBooks, Kindle, Nook) allow the reader to select their own font, typically from a short list of about six available fonts,

If you are referring to the 28pt font size, that’s a different story. In Scrivener Editor, let’s say your title text is 28pt, and your subtitle text is 14pt. eReaders don’t maintain these specific font sizes, but they will maintain the relative sizes. In other words, your title text still will be larger than your subtitle text.

To add to Katherine’s answer:

Ebooks generally don’t contain fonts. Rather, the e-reader device will have a selection of fonts and the reader can choose which one he prefers. For instance, in iBooks the default reader font is Iowan (actually Iowan Old Style, I believe), but you can also choose to switch to Palatino, Georgia and more.