Changing chapter names won't work

Hi, I’m new to Scrivener.

I want my chapters to be named by their folders names. I searched for it in the forum and googled it but no matter what I do it will show “chapter one” - The level 1 folders have the section type “chapter heading” (I also tried to change it to “chapter” to see what happens but nothing did). I did chceck the “assign section layouts”, but nothing works for me. It does not matter what I use it will still show “chapter one”. I did try duplicating the format and editing it, but I still get “chapter one”. It will show the folder name if I change the folder type to “section” and chose in the “assign section layouts” “section title” instead of “chapter one” - but even then there is a page added before it - titeled “chapter one” , so I guess it is not how it’s done. So how do I get the chapters to be called by their folders name? Is there somewhere something like “chapter title” similar to " section title" that I am overseeing? Can someone tell me step by step, how I get this done, I feel realy stupid right now. ,

Thanks

Hi.
Lets start by fixing that : there is nothing obvious that you’ve missed. Sure you could have read the manual, but other than that, it is not a simple “check this checkbox” thing.

Here is what you need to do:

In the compile panel, double click the compile format you’ve chosen to compile with.

Duplicate and edit when prompted to. (If you don’t get the prompt, quit right away, and duplicate the compile format first. There will be some experimentation to do, and you don’t want to mess up whatever compile format it is that is your starting point.)

You’ll end up in a panel that looks like this :

At the bottom, in the “Title Options” tab, find the layout (list at the top) that matches this :

Clear the title prefix box. image

. . . . . . . .
Here you can see what section type is assigned to a specific layout in the list at the top :