Changing the look of titles etc.

Hi

I am using the Scrivener Manuscript template and need to add a prologue. I have read quite a few of the answers on the forums and I have tried both their suggestions to alter things in the Binder (nothing changed) and in the Compiler (again nothing changed - the manuscript format looked the same in Preview when I checked it).

Now as I am a newb to Scrivener and just want to keep things veeerrry simple, could anyone tell me if it is even possible to make these changes. I also want to change the look of the chapter headings but I think that might be a step too far, i.e. instead of ‘CHAPTER ONE’ I would like ‘One’ etc. :confused:

You’re going to have to be quite a bit more specific with what you did/chose, and what you changed for anyone to address the specific problems you’re having, but I can address a couple that seem to be in your post.

To change the chapter numbering (from “CHAPTER ONE” to “Chapter One”, or even “Chapter 1”, go to File->Compile->Formatting. Find the kind of document and level that matches your chapter dividers. In other words, if you have folders at “level 1” in your Manuscript folder that represent where a chapter starts, then chose the level 1 folder icon row in the compile’s formatting section. Then click on the Section Layout button. You’ll see something like this in the Prefix box: CHAPTER <$t>

Change the constant part however you like “Chapter” or "CH: " or whatever you like. To change the numbering scheme, visit Edit->Insert->Auto-Number and choose the numbering scheme that appeals to you, then replace the old <$t> part with the new numbering symbol thingy.

Hi Robert

Thank you for trying to help me but I am now panicking big time. I tried to make the changes as you suggested and nothing changed except I now have a Chapter One heading above my Chapter Two heading that I cannot get rid of.
Screenshot.png

This is how my binder and compile screen etc. look at present: