Character Template Trouble

I am just getting started with Scrivener, so please excuse what is probably a stupid question. I went into templates and filled out a character sketch. However, when I went to fill in a second character sketch I could not get a new template to come up. When I went to duplicate it it came up with the information filled in from my first character template. No matter what I try this ends up being the result. If someone could explain to me how to get a fresh character template page to complete I would really appreciate it. Thanks!

Hi,

Did you read the information about how to use the novel template provided at the top of the binder? It sounds as though you didn’t. :slight_smile: It sounds as though you have gone and edited the actual template. The files inside the “Templates” folder are the templates. Anything placed in that folder is available via Project > New From Template. You should not edit the files inside the “Templates” folder directly unless you want to change the template questions (which is fine). Instead, you go to Project > New From Template > Character Sheet to create a clean duplicate.

To fix things, just move the edited character template out of the Templates folder and into the “Characters” folder, then create a new novel project and drag the clean character sheet from the binder of the new project into the Templates folder of your existing project. (Then you can delete the second project you just made.)

Essentially, the Templates folder allows you to user any other document as a template for new documents.

All the best,
Keith

Thank you for your help. I actually had read the information but thought I had to open the template first, then do what you said. Anyway, now I know how to do it. Thanks for your quick reply.