chief caution with beta

Hi. I’m new to the software, and I’m looking forward to getting into it. I understand all the caveats about using the beta version, etc. I know there are know guarantees. I’m wondering, though: If I’m careful (i.e., obsessive) about backing up my files, is using the beta a safe enough undertaking? I mean, if I’m backing up after each session, I’m most likely not going to lose more than one session’s work if the program wigs out, yes?

Again, I’m not looking for an airtight promise—I just would like to know that folks here are trusting the beta enough to actual use it, and that frequent backing up is the best caution to take.

thanks,
D

I haven’t lost any work using scrivener. That said I can only speak for my own use of the beta which I’m using daily. Backing up is important no matter what software you use, but with betas it’s wise to backup at every opportunity.

So far I haven’t had a problem. I use Dropbox and feel fairy safe because I’ll have a last saved version there. When I started with the beta, I used to compile a version periodically, and just prior to a new version just in case. I don’t do that any more. Although, dear gods of the save function, that is not a challenge. :smiley:

:slight_smile: Thanks for the opinions, folks. I’m jumping in and will backup frequently. Looking forward to getting into it.

D

Note, there are several ways to provide yourself with “backups”. In addition to multiple copies of the Scriv files, I would suggest that you compile to RTF, Word or a format to suit yourself regularly as this will also provide you with a backup of the manuscript (although not the research etc) in a format readable by other software.

I’ll add my weight to the others, though: I’ve had no problems of losing data on running the beta.

I have a question before I would like to start the beta.