Citation Manager Woes - URGENT HELP!

I am a PhD student and am fairly tech savvy but the reason I keep leaving Scrivener is my inability to find a simple straight-forward way to use a citation manager that doesn’t force me to install multiple open-source products and study the process for hours to get it to work. I am amazed that Literature & Latte does not have a simple user-friendly video to integrate a basic citation manager. Am I missing something? I have deadlines people! I need to write, not program.

Please, is there a simple solution for citations in Scrivener?

I’m not sure if you have a citations program and wondering how to use, however if you are looking for a citations manager Bookends by Sonny Software is absolutely worldclass. I’m using it for my PhD. It integrates seamlessly with Scrivener, it has internal search functions to add citations. The support is immediate from the developers.
Hope this helps

I also wrote my PhD thesis using Scrivener and Bookends. It was very straightforward. Both programs have a lot of features, which can make them complex if you try to use them all, but I probably used only a tiny fraction of what they offered and managed to cope.

To summarise a bit crudely, you enter the details of any reference work in Bookends (author, title, date, and so forth) then when you are writing and want to cite a reference you switch to Bookends, copy a “temporary citation” (which typically looks something like {Smith, 1985, #453}) and paste that into your text or footnote, or whatever. When you have finished the thesis you compile to rtf, then scan the resulting file with Bookends, which changes all your temporary citations to the correct format, and compiles the bibliography, which it appends to the file. Not that complicated in my experience, and if I can do it, a chimpanzee can manage it. Probably rather better …

Thank you both for your replies.

I have used Endnotes and now I use Zotero.