Compile Comments and Footnotes

Dear all,

I’m a PhD researcher, developing my thesis on Scrivener. I’m also a new user.

I need to print the main text of my thesis with two characteristics:
(i) Must have all the Footnotes on the bottom of the same page it was written.
(ii) Must have all Comments in some clear identifiable manner - a “box” for instance.

Those are supervisor’s requirements! :wink:

What should I do? How to configure the compilation?

Thanks for the help in advance. Cheers,

Aldo

Hi Aldo,

You will need to choose RTF format, and under “Footnotes/Comments”, ensure “Remove inspector comments” and “Remove inline annotations” are un-ticked, and that “Export inspector footnotes as endnotes” and “Export inline footnotes and endnotes” are all un-ticked too. This will generate an RTF file to your requirements.

You can then open the RTF file in your word processor of choice - Word or Nisus, for instance (not Pages, though, which doesn’t support RTF very well) - check that it’s to your requirements, and send it to your supervisor directly or print it out from your word processor.

(It’s not possible to print end-of-page footnotes and boxed comments directly from Scrivener, because Scrivener isn’t a layout program, so you need a word processor for those things - Scrivener will set up everything for the word processor provided the word processor properly supports the RTF format though.)

Hope that helps.

All the best,
Keith

Thanks Keith,

The procedure works nicely.

However, those are suggestions for next versions of Scrivener – this is something quite helpful for academic writing.

Cheers,

Aldo