Compile Generates No Files (v1.7.2)

I’ve used Scrivener for Mac for 2 years and have been largely happy with it. This is my first time attempting to compile a document for Scrivener for Windows.

I’ve hit the “Compile” button and selected all the required text files within my project. Scrivener prompts me for a location to save my output file to and tells me it’s working (the “Compiling Files” box pops up; the “Converting Files” progress bar pops up, advances to about 4%, then Scrivener tells me it’s done). However, no file appears - I go to the location indicated and there’s nothing.

I’ve tried this with the custom format I use for manuscripts and the default “Manuscript” format. I’ve tried this with the output type set to .docx files, .doc files, and to .pdf. There is no difference - Scrivener tells me it’s compiled a file, and yet no file is compiled.

Wish I had a solid answer for you, but I don’t.

What I can offer are some possibilities as a starting point. Some of it is basically process of elimination.

Try a different project and see if you can get it to compile.

Try a new project, created from scratch on the PC, and see if you can get it to compile.

Check in File > Compile > Formatting and make sure that at least one of the levels, probably the bottom one (page icon Level 1+), has a checkmark in the Text column.

Doublecheck the destination offered/selected during Compile.

To be paranoid, try pointing it somewhere else, perhaps Desktop or Documents.

If you are watching the destination via an already open instance of File Explorer or My Computer, be sure to do a refresh of the view, or exit and relaunch it, after compile says is complete, to assure you are seeing a current view.

Uninstall/re-download/reinstall Scrivener.

What version, if any of Microsoft Office/Word, is present on the PC?

What antivirus/antimalware software is present on the PC?

Post back and let folks here know how it goes.

Hope that is of some assistance.