Compile Preset Not Working

I have been using Scrivener for many years and have never run into this issue before. I hope someone can help me out with this as I’ve been fighting with it for hours.

Both my husband and I are authors and use Scrivener, both on MacBook Pros and updated to the newest Scrivener versions and all updates on our machines. Some time ago I created a compile template for our editing proofs. I imported it into my husband’s Scrivener and it worked perfectly in both of our programs. Then a few weeks ago, I wiped my system and installed a clean copy of Mac OS X 10.8.2 and installed Scrivener again. I imported all templates and settings, which I’d saved. And now my export template for the editing proof doesn’t work. Even though I’d taken it from my husband’s machine, where it does work, and on the same manuscript file.

I have tried everything I can think of, including looking over all the settings on our two programs side-by-side. The issue is, when it exports for .doc, it doesn’t keep any of the header/footer information nor the chapter page breaks. This is a huge issue as I need to go through the whole manuscript fixing things before sending it to my editor. Not fun.

I can open my Scrivener file on my husband’s machine and export it properly, but I’d really like to do this on my own machine. Any thoughts?

Thanks for the help. :slight_smile:

What are you opening the compiled .doc in? Text edit? Pages? In other words having totally refreshed your MBP, are you using the same wordprocessor as before?

Mark

Yes, I’m using the same word processor in both cases. I’m opening the compiled .doc in Pages. I even tried opening it in Word, but same issue. On my husband’s computer, it opens in Pages and shows everything perfectly. The strange thing is, all my other compile presets work perfectly such as for Kindle and ePub.