Compile to Word.docx "Randomly" converts everything to Bold or Italics

I’m stumped. I’ve been using Scrivener for a few years. I love it. I’ve watched all the videos. I’ve added all sorts of styles. It’s great. It seems a gremlin creeped in somewhere. There are times where I compile a manuscript and it works great. Then I add one more text section, and everything, and I mean everything, in the compiled document is suddenly Bold or Italics. Sometimes it is the other way. I compile and everything is bold. So then I add one more item to the compile that is using the same text section, and everything is fine.

When I look in Word after one of these mishaps, I see that the “Normal Style” has somehow been set to bold or italics, respectively. I can then deselect that from the Normal Style in Word, and the document appears to be ok otherwise.

So somehow, a bold or italics is getting passed into a Normal style. I am at a loss as to how that is happening. I am not encountering this when I compile to pdf.

Just as a further test, try compiling to RTF and opening that in Word. Do you still find the same thing?

:slight_smile:

Mark

Do you use a Normal body style in the Scrivener project?

Hello Mark, thank you for your comment. I gave that a try. When I compile to rtf there is no problem. And when I open that rtf in word, there is no problem. But when I compile directly to word, then I have the problem.

Kind regards,

Matthew

1 Like

Hello kewms,

Yes; I use Normal body style in the Scrivener project as the default, and simply use other styles for things like Header 2, Header 3, etc. where I have bold.

I use the Chicago style essay template as my base. I have it slightly modified and saved with a different name to meet a few peculiarities of my institution.

When I compile the TOC alone, all is good. That document has some bold and mostly not bold. So it seems to work as expected.