Compile With Formatting

Hi,

I am new to Scrivener, teetering on the edge of registration, and I am trying to find out whether I can carry formatting though to compile.

By this I mean I am interested in the formatting inside a chapter‭ (‬or a section of the same‭) and whether any of that does, or can be made to, carry ‬through to compilation.

The Scrivener docs are RTF so can contain‭ (‬and do maintain‭) ‬formatting i.e.‭ ‬if I bold and centre titles,‭ ‬justify paragraphs,‭ ‬italicise certain words and indent to my personal choice. If‭ ‬ I subsequently close Scrivener and re-open it later‭ (‬even on an entirely different machine‭) ‬that formatting is maintained.

I have tried compile and it produces a courier format RTF document losing my formatting. What I wan to know is whether there is a way to maintain that lovingly created formatting past compilation‭ because it ‬would be insane to just lose those lovely edits.‭ I’ve checked some of the settings and can’t see any obvious way to do this which raises the question (to me) of why bother formatting at all?

‭Thx

Keke

Hello there,
Until the professional help comes along, have you clicked on the little blue arrow on the compile menu? When clicking compile a box comes up and there is a small blue arrow on the right - this gives you many compile formatting options. Also on each document take a look at the Compile-as-is tick box in the inspector meta data field. All that you have mentioned is easily achieved. The manual is accessible from within Scriv and details all of this.