Compiling Scrivener 3 for KIndle - Can I use styles

This is my first time compiling in Scrivener 3 for Kindle (done it many times in Scrivener 2). My basic question is can I use Styles. I used to use presets. These gave me custom font sizes and line spacing. In Scrivener 3 I have created the styles both in the manuscript and imported them into in the new format I have created. If I create the compile for PDF I see my styles but if I create it for MOBI (old style) I don’t.
Am I allowed to do this or am I doing something wrong?
:frowning:
Best Regards

Neil

With the legacy Kindle format you should be seeing normal formatting carrying over—if not from your compile format, from just the editor itself. Styles are little different from presets in that they not only format text, but protect the formatting as well (unless compile settings specifically change that style by name). If you used Preserve Formatting in the past, it’s the same idea.

So to answer your question better, we’d need more detail into what you are doing, and expect to see. Not everything you can do in the text editor is valid in an ebook context for instance, such as changing font families.

Just to add to Ioa’s comment, though, you can use styles in the ePub 3 and KF8 formats, and in that those formats are really built around styles and the styles end up in the CSS. So that we can give you a little more help, would it be possible either to share some screenshots or a sample project showing the problem in a little more details?

All the best,
Keith

Hi,

Thanks for your quick reply. I went back and did some more testing. Attached are two screenshots both were compiled from the same compile format (I just changed the compile for file format). I also added some screenshots from the compile.