Compiling to MultiMarkDown and .mobi?

I’m brand new to Scrivener and also to MultiMarkDown. I saw a video yesterday of someone using multiple tools to accomplish what I believe Scrivener can do alone.

Basically, I want to be able to write the article in Scrivener with MarkDown, then export it with the MarkDown formatting in Kindle format. Is this possible?

In the video, he wrote the article in another MultiMarkDown app, saved it, and converted it from MultiMarkDown format to .mobi using Calibre.

Is this necessary, or can I somehow do all of this with Scrivener?

Thanks!

Unless you use only very simple Markdown: bold and italics, it’s not possible with Scrivener, unfortunately. There is a checkbox in the Transformations compile pane for simple bold and italics, everything else will end up as visible code. I would check out Pandoc. The MMD that Scrivener creates is Pandoc compatibile, meta-data aside (easy to dodge as you can create your own meta-data in Pandoc format by putting a file called “Meta-Data” at the very top of the Draft, and type however you want into it). It’s still a post-Scrivener project though.

As an aside, I wouldn’t recommend Calibre for creating the .mobi file. You should definitely go .epub and then use KindleGen or Kindle Previewer to convert it. Calibre won’t create a KF8 part, which is the future of the format.

Thanks for the reply. I’m not sure I fully understand.

I know I can write the MMD in Scrivener. Are you saying that I can’t view it in Scrivener or I can’t export it from Scrivener?

What I need is relatively simple, I believe. I don’t need a table of contents or anything like that, because I’m writing separate documents for each lesson I am teaching. I just want to get it as effortlessly as possibly from Scrivener (using MMD) to an ebook on my Kindle.

I have used the Send to Kindle app before, but I believe it only uses .mobi.