Contextual Menu Text Color Subset

A quick skim of six pages of “text color” search results didn’t seem to reveal anything, so here goes:

As a professional writer, I heavily use on-the-fly text color as I’m banging down the words. Certain colors for “find a better word choice later” or “extra beats needed for better sentence meter” or “could be cut if necessary.” That sort of thing.

The main points are (a) I don’t use a lot of colors and (b) I use them consistently because they’re literally color codes. In a future version of Scrivener would it be possible to choose, say, five or six colors from the wretchedly persistent Mac OS color wheel and have them accessible via the contextual menu–much like highlighting currently works? Then I could put that damnable, spacing-hogging color selector away until it was absolutely necessary.

And as to potential feature bloat: Yes, I could probably use highlighting to roughly achieve what I want, but given my heavy use of on-the-fly color, I just couldn’t deal with massively (as opposed to minimal) polychrome result. See it as allowing users to view the split editor in both vertical and horizontal orientations–one view is technically sufficient, but not optimal.

Hopefully a 2.X version of Scrivener will allow me to stop the OS color selector from perpetually obscuring important parts of the Inspector drawer. Fingers crossed, as they say.

Me, too.

Yes, me too. Particularly ‘think of a better word’.

crimewriter

<begin: smart arsery>
I only need one color for “think of words”
<end: smart arsery>

Hi,