Control Keys not working and temporary lockups of Scrivener

I am new to Scrivener and this was my first test of importing a large document (1 meg total with 244 different files) into Scrivener. Previously I had gone through the interactive tutorial and the videos, read a few how-to articles as well as imported and played with some small documents.

Into a new blank template, I imported the 244 plain text files into the Draft folder. The total size of all files was 1 meg.

Using the default settings I started changing the imported document names from their original file names to what I wanted. Two “BAD” problems were noted and after figuring out a setup (by accident) that made them go away–I am convinced that they are “somehow” related:

First Problem:

When I started editing the document names, at times Scrivener and Windows would lock and not permit any other actions to occur and the disk monitor showed a lot of disk writes and reads. When the disk stopped reading and writing (several minutes later) Scrivener and Windows started working again. This happened several times (at irregular intervals) and it seemed to have something to do with my editing actions. I was unable to repeat causing the problem at will though.

In fifteen minutes of editing document names I realized that Scrivener locking up all the time like this was unusable and started testing anything I could think of. First I checked the hard disk log and discovered that Scrivener had READ over 1 gigabyte of data and WRITTEN over 2 gigabytes of data during fifteen minutes of minor editing.

I have no way to tell exactly what it was reading and writing… but the only thing I know of that; 1 - would slow a “high power” computer down that much and 2 - would require so much reading and writing for 1 meg of data, is something like an old style bubble sort routine that used the hard disk for all of the sort storage.