Corkboard Index Card Stacking

As a pre-sales user (very much intrigued), I notice a seemingly blind spot in the index cards aspect of Scrivener. Why can’t cards be stacked to reflect physical practice. I’m not concerned that cards can be moved to specific locations, although that would be helpful. It seems essential that many cards can become a few stacks of other cards to promote cohesion of anyone’s project. This type of stacking is essential to my intended use. I am involved in writing lexical taxonomy articles. As stated, I am a newbie with Scrivener and may have missed a software feature.

Unless you are referring to a visual stacking, you already can do this. Cards can be placed “within” other cards, and when you do so that will be reflected in the Binder outline list on the left. The two are tied together intrinsically, just as index cards are merely “fronts” for entire documents.

Yes definitely “visual stacking”. That is the point to see what the organization becomes. It is not enough to watch a second pane to see what the hierarchal organization becomes.

Interesting. I’m trying to think how such visual stacking could be implemented using the current metaphor. The cards/stacks currently automatically “flow” from left to right, top to bottom of the corkboard, which is logical, and prevents you from placing them anywhere on the screen (for good reason, since they represent a hierarchy, rather than an arbitrary arrangement).