Cursor Size

Okay so this probably won’t ever make it into the program, but I just thought I’d drop it into the suggestion box anyway.

When I’m writing in Full-Screen mode with my crisp green font and my black background I wish so much that I could change the size of the cursor (you remember the fat cursor from DOS). I dunno, call it nostaligia.

I’m not sure this is what you mean, but you can change the size of the cursor through System Preferences > Universal Access > Mouse. If it’s the insertion point – the blinking blob – you want to change, that’s in Scrivener at Preferences > Full Screen > Block width.

found it- thanks!

Is this a beta-only feature? I’m using Scrivener 1.0.3 and I don’t seem to have the option to have a block cursor…

Yes, it is new for 1.1 - you can download the 1.08 beta from the Beta Testing forum.
Best,
Keith

I’m new to the ways of the Beta - can I install it alongside a stable release?

No, most certainly don’t. :slight_smile: The beta will update the file format and if you try to update an updated project in the older, 1.03 release, it will corrupt the updated project so that it is not readable in either version (this is because of a bug in all versions prior to the current beta whereby Scrivener mistakes projects created in a newer version for older ones and tries to update them regardless). Of course, Scrivener makes a backup of the project as-is, so were this to happen you would still be able to open the backup and thus would lose no work. But the point is that you can’t do any back-and-forth between versions.