Custom Project Backups

I’m new to Scrivener 3, and right now I have three projects on the go. I saw in the Project Settings tab that I can set it so that each project backs up to their own custom folder. I have done this, but it seems that the global setting still overrides the project settings, and saves all the backups in the main backup folder.

I’m not sure if I am doing something wrong or if this is some sort of error. Any thoughts?

Did you possibly try to set it to put the backups in the same folder where you save your project?

The only thing I’m aware of that would cause that to happen is if the designated backup folder does not exist. In that case Scrivener will fall back to using the central backup folder.

Other problematic scenarios will produce warnings. For example if the working project is stored in its own backup folder you will be warned when loading it, but backups will still be operational. If the folder does not have read/write permissions then you will get a warning when a backup is attempted, and it will simply fail rather than using the central location.

No, the file is saved to Dropbox and the backups are saved locally.

The folders are there. I can move the backup files into them manually, so they seem to be working ok. And if I set the global setting to the project folder, then it works fine, but it also puts the backups of the other projects in that folder.

It’s strange that it just reads the global setting and seems to ignore the custom project setting.

That’s very strange. To eliminate any ambiguity, and look for any potential error messages, I’d try a simple test:

1. Restart Scrivener with no projects open (hold Shift when launching).
  2. Set Show internal error alerts, in the General: Warnings preference pane.
  3. Open Console.app, from the Applications/Utilities folder.
  4. Next create a new folder on the Desktop called “Test”.
  5. Create a new blank project on the Desktop as well, and set it up to use the “Test” folder.