Dark Mode: Text turns black when renaming

I’m fairly new to Scrivener but not to UI and UX as I develop for the Web.

I am on an M1 Mac using Scrivener Dark Mode. This only occurs when using Dark Mode.

It seems other themes do not have this issue either. I see there is a “Theme” system and I think I just need to modify the current theme. I am not sure how to identify the colors for item titles and their label colors while editing them.

This is where support could help me. How do I set the color and color while editing and is it possible to export / import themes? Is there a supported library for themes?

When I try to rename an element, the text is there but it turns black. It’s virtually impossible to see what I am editing and I end up having to edit more than once or just completely retype the title.

I thought other themes were solving the issue but all the darker ones seem to exhibit the same behavior.

Where is your title ?

If it is in the editor, just make sure your font is of the default color (not of a color) and you should be fine.

Otherwise themes import and load is in the options, and you can find some over here on the forum.

1. I have been unable to reproduce this (Scriv 3.3.1, MacOS Ventura).

2. When in Scriv Dark Mode, when I select text in either the editor pane or Binder, the highlight color is the one set in Appl > Settings > Appearance (Accent:Blue, Highlight: Blue), and the text is white/light, just as it is when not selected.

@gr
Your text is of the default color, right?

True, but things work just as expected even if I set some swath of text to a specific color (incl. black or white). The text turns light (even if someway tinted) when the dark mode is operating.

-gr

P.S. Curiously, in scriv dark mode (which I don’t use myself) Binder text is white while editor text is a tawny color. Some sort of eye-saving default, I suppose.*

(*) Or perhaps a nod to Russell Hoban.