Deleted Text (but in a strange way)

I’ve been using scrivener for many months now, and today I experienced the most dreaded moment that we all fear when writing - disappearing text.

I have no idea how this happened. I’m using version 2.3.1, have had no problems before, and spent hours today working on a project that I really wanted to finish.

Here’s what happened: after many hours of writing, I went to look at my footnotes to make sure I had them all correct. Afterwards, I went to compile for a PDF. I played around in the compile menu for a few minutes (I don’t normally look at everything, but today I felt like it), and then hit compile. I hadn’t really changed any of the normal options I use.

I get back to the document, and it seems to have rolled back to the version I started with earlier today, except for the last two sentences I had written on my introduction paragraph. I combed through and noticed many small things had gone back to their pre-edit version, and an entire section from my conclusion was missing. Not to mention the title at the top of the document (not the file, but the document) had mysteriously changed back to what I had before I started hours ago.

This makes no sense. It seems to have kept some edits, but deleted others. I am, as you might imagine, freaking out right now. Has this happened to anyone else? How do I find my previous version?? I have not used any backups or snapshots, so I have no idea how Scrivener would be able to selectively roll back to an earlier version of the document…