deleted text lost through autosave

I’m completely new to scriv. what troubles me in the first few minutes of using it is the autosave, which writes over the original file rather than a backup in another location like word. if you accidently delete a paragraph or two then with two seconds it’s lost for good as the original file is overwritten with the loss included.

1. Cmd-Z to undo. It even works between different documents. Made some mistakes in a document you just edited a bit ago? Open it up, press Cmd-Z and the changes will be reverted. Go back to the one you were working on before, and Cmd-Z will still work in that one too, independently. Does not work after you close Scrivener though.
  2. Take a look at the Snapshot feature, if you are used to the work model of having save points as milestones, that is what you are looking for.
  3. Rather than actually deleting text, why not just highlight it for deletion? Select a range, and press Cmd-Opt-A to turn it into an annotation (pressing it again while the text is selected will toggle it back off). Unless you tell it to, they won’t export or print when using the exporter, and if you are positive they really should go – you can snapshot them, and then wipe them all out at once with Copy without Annotations and Footnotes in the Edit menu, and then paste over the current document. Some people like to use strike-out, too. I like using annotations instead because it is so easy to delete them all when I’m done.